The Phoenix 40

Before refining its mission for a more focused impact, Greater Phoenix Leadership was founded and known as the Phoenix 40. From 1975 to 1993, the Phoenix 40 successfully pursued a variety of community-building measures that have shaped Arizona, including the 1986 Valley freeway expansion, passage of the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday in 1992, and booking the Valley’s first Super Bowl that took place in 1996.

Invitation letter for the original Phoenix 40, now Greater Phoenix Leadership:

December, 1974

Dear Community Leader,

This is probably one of the most important letters you have ever received because the immediate future of Phoenix may depend on the response to this challenge.

Approximately 25 top civic leaders, of whom you are one, are being asked to meet at the Arizona Biltmore, Tuesday afternoon, February 4, at 3:30 o’clock in the Adobe Building. No substitutes, please; Phoenix needs you!

No organization has been formed, no officers have been elected, but these matters will be considered and resolved after the final discussion at our meeting.

Please call my office, or sign the enclosed confirmation card now so you will be there.

Good luck and God bless you,
Eugene C. Pulliam

Founding Members

  • G. Clarke Bean
    Hayes Caldwell, M.D.
    Tom W. Chauncey
    Msgr. Robert Donohoe
    Junius Driggs
    Karl Eller
    George F. Getz
    Sherman Hazeltine
    Robert H. Johnson
    George Leonard
  • Stephen Levy
    James Maher
    Richard Mallery
    Samuel Mardian, Jr.
    James Mayer
    Rod J. McMullin
    Loyal Meek
    Dennis Mitchem
    L.D. “Pat” Murphy
    Rev. Culver Nelson
  • William G. Orr
    Jesse Owens
    Eugene C. Pulliam
    William P. Reilly Sr.
    Newton Rosenzweig
    Raymond Shaffer
    William R. Shover
    James P. Simmons
    Paul Singer, M.D.
    Lawson V. Smith
  • Frank L. Snell
    Franz Talley
    Thomas Tang
    Maurice R. Tanner
    Keith L. Turley
    Mason Walsh
    Robert D. Williams
    Russell Williams